Customer Reviews

Reviewed in the United States on March 2, 2020

Verified Purchase

Reviewed in the United States on February 6, 2020

Verified Purchase
on January 7, 2017

I live in the Northwest and battle blackberry bushes constantly. I purchased these gloves in hopes that they would be thick enough to protect my hands and arms, but pliable enough for me to actually use my hands. I was not disappointed! We tackled a giant wall of blackberries and roses that had taken over one side of our property and not one scratch or puncture!!!!! Now, I would have been thrilled with just the protection the gloves offered but,,,as most gardeners know, one thing leads to another in the garden and I ended up weeding and raking for an additional hour. When I went inside to clean up, it was only then that I realized that I hadn’t even switched to my regular gardening gloves. I was still wearing my Fir Tree gloves! They are comfortable and I had no trouble grasping weeds with them. I wiped them clean and let them dry before placing them back into their protective pouch and they are ready for my next adventure!

I will be ordering a second pair for fear these may sell out fast!

 

Reviewed in the United States on January 21, 2020

Size: MediumColor: GreyVerified Purchase
on August 20, 2016
Amazing product! We have a black raspberry hedge, and while it’s fun to collect berries, the pruning of the old canes, and trellising of the new canes, were very painful. Now, I can get in the middle of the hedge, cut out the dead wood, and tie up the new canes so they get maximum sunshine, and don’t droop over the walk-way.
Robert H. Sydnor

Reviewed in the United States on February 6, 2018

These excellent gloves by the Fir Tree Company have protective gauntlets so that your forearms are fully protected. Mine arrived promptly from the manufacturer.
The fingers and palms are made of durable but soft goat-skin leather. The gauntlets are made of durable cowhide leather, but are comfortable to wear. I use these for trail maintenance, cutting brush on over-grown horse-trails that includes many kinds of thorns. ( Wicked examples include blackberry vines, Scotch broom, poison oak, and ceanothus, often called white thorn). Of course, these gloves are splendid for pruning roses in your garden. These gloves also are very useful for carrying armloads of firewood, so that forearms are protected from lacerations and contusions (= cuts and bruises).
Fir Tree Company also includes a booklet on how to wash, clean, and recondition the two different kinds of leather.
I have shown these amazing gloves to my neighbors, and have purchased additional pairs for a lady-friend. The gloves are American-made with excellent quality in the stitching and clever use of two different leathers.
4 people found this helpful
on June 24, 2016
My goatskin gloves are fantastic! One caution is to be sure to know and get your size as the leather will stretch and mold to your hands. I especially like the length because they allow me to reach deep into the rose bush to prune dead limbs without a scratch.
on June 12, 2016
I got these for trimming my rose bushes. The sheepskin feels so luxurious I didn’t want to use them in the yard! The gloves are soft and yet strong against thorns. I didn’t get poked once which trimming.
on May 29, 2016

I finally had the chance to try these out today. I needed to drastically cut back a hybrid gallica rose, and these did exactly what I needed them to do. I could grasp branches as I trimmed and no thorns got through at all. My arms were protected to my elbow. They were comfortable and even though it was sort of warm today, they didn’t feel hot. (Mid July may be different!). They feel very sturdy. I also pulled out some wild blackberry brambles with no injury.

Highly recommend.

 

on May 9, 2016
GREAT gloves perfect for rose gardening and heavy pruning soft yet durable. And they arrived as others have said inside a bag very nice and the fact that the manufacturer stands behind the product makes it a great choice! The best part if there is a problem with this glove then the manufacturer seems to take great care of customers. Ordered Large for a man who has not super big hands so if you are a big burly dude with huge hands order a size up. The large were too big for me and I wear a small or medium ladies glove. So for a man a large is not super big but for average man of average height not huge hands Lg would work
Sniping Briars Gauntlet.
on May 25, 2016
I got these for my mother as a gift for Mother’s Day because she was looking all over for these in stores but could not find them. When they arrived, they came packaged so nicely in a bag with care instructions. I tried them on myself and found them to be so soft and supple! My mom said these were exactly what she was looking for!
on June 26, 2016
I really like these gloves! They’re light weight, but very tough. I use them all the time for driving, digging, gardening, and on and on. They fit perfectly from the start. It’s hard to tell how long they’re going to last, but early indications are for a long time . . . but I won’t be without a pair. They’re perfect for me for summer work around our small farm!Fir tree man with shovel lr